A Diamond Celebration


75 yr pins- smallMore than 600 participants and guests celebrated a special anniversary, Oct. 26-28, during Florida Farm Bureau’s Annual Meeting in Orlando. Voting delegates discussed and approved policy resolutions which were adopted as policy for 2017.

The meeting served as a venue to recognize outstanding members and lawmakers for their service to agriculture.

A history hall displayed historic items donated by county Farm Bureaus in honor of the organization’s 75th anniversary and the Commissioner’s Ag-Environmental Leadership Award breakfast was held in conjunction with the meeting. Alliance Dairies, Cherrylake and Jones Potato Farm were honored for their excellent stewardship.

The following awards were presented at the annual meeting:

Young Farmers and Ranchers Achievement in Agriculture Award: Doug and Deanne Carter
(Suwannee County)

Young Farmers and Ranchers Excellence in Agriculture Award: Dean Cheshire (Alachua County)

Young Farmers and Ranchers Discussion Meet Award: Trevor Murphy (Highlands County)

Youth Speech Contest Winner: Maddie Dvorak (Polk County)

Newsperson of the Year Award: Katrina Elsken (Okeechobee County)

Volunteer Communicator of the Year Award: Susan Hendry (Clay County)

Certified Crop Advisor of the Year Award: Frank Dowdle (Palm Beach County)

Legislator of the Year Award: State Sen. Travis Hutson, State Rep. Halsey Beshears and State Rep. Matt Caldwell

Team Player Award: Freddy Pitts (Jefferson, Lafayette, Madison and Taylor Counties)

Distinguished Service Award: Ron Wetherington (Hillsborough County) and Marilyn Grant (Marion County)

Southeast Ag Expo Florida Farmer of the Year: Paul J. DiMare (Miami-Dade County)

Ag-Environmental Leadership Award: Alliance Dairies (Gilchrist County), Cherrylake (Lake County) and Jones Potato Farm (Manatee County)

View our photos from Annual Meeting
2016 FFB State Annual Meeting